Issuer Credit Research

Issuer Summary: Adani International Container Terminal Private Limited (ADINCO)

Issuer: Adani International Container Terminal | Document: Issuer Summary | Date: 2026-08-18

Report date: 2026-08-18

1. Business Snapshot and Recent Developments

Adani International Container Terminal Private Limited (AICTPL) is the operator of a container terminal at Mundra Port, Gujarat. It is a 50:50 joint venture between Adani Ports and Special Economic Zone Limited (APSEZ) and Mundi Limited, a wholly owned subsidiary of Terminal Investment Limited Sàrl. The credit considered here is AICTPL's own 3.00% Senior Secured USD Notes due 2031, not an APSEZ parent obligation and not an MSC obligation. That distinction matters: repayment depends principally on a single terminal's cash generation and the note structure, while APSEZ and the MSC/TiL relationship are commercial and operating supports rather than confirmed guarantees.

The audited FY2025-26 annual report, released on 1 June 2026, confirms a mixed but not fundamentally adverse operating year. Throughput fell 4.04% to 3.172mn TEU from 3.30mn TEU, as transshipment volume fell 18%. Management attributed the pressure to geopolitical disruption affecting South Asia, the Persian Gulf and the Red Sea. MSC traffic also declined, from 2.62mn TEU to 2.48mn TEU, but remained 78.2% of traffic. This keeps customer concentration at the centre of the credit case even as the annual report provides better transparency than the earlier compliance-certificate record.

The reduction in volume did not reduce statutory revenue or operating cash flow. Revenue from operations increased 16.8% to INR 2,221.34 crore, and net cash generated from operating activities increased to INR 1,143.58 crore from INR 917.40 crore. The divergence between throughput and revenue should not be read as simple pricing strength without more detail on cargo mix, tariffs and FX-linked revenue. It nevertheless indicates that FY26 cash generation held up despite lower transshipment activity. The same report records higher revenue-sharing expense, a materially larger net foreign-exchange loss and a larger derivative loss; these items show why statutory profit must be read together with cash flow and the USD debt exposure.

The annual report also materially improves the disclosed structural picture. It confirms that the notes amortise through 19 structured semi-annual instalments and mature on 16 February 2031. It describes first-ranking pari passu security over present and future immovable property, core assets, movable assets, book debts, other assets, cash flows, receivables, revenues, project accounts and specified rights and benefits. The issuer and shareholders have given non-disposal undertakings over core assets and 100% of issued share capital until final maturity. These are meaningful creditor-protection disclosures, but they do not substitute for the full Offering Circular, Note Trust Deed, account-control agreements or an enforcement analysis.

2. Industry Position and Franchise Strength

AICTPL's franchise is tied to Mundra's position as a major Indian port and to the operating network of its two joint-venture sponsors. The company was incorporated to develop and operate container-terminal infrastructure at Mundra under the port-development rights granted to APSEZ by the Gujarat Maritime Board and the Government of Gujarat. This creates an operating context stronger than that of a greenfield standalone terminal: it benefits from an established port ecosystem and sponsor relationships. It does not, however, diversify the issuer beyond a single location and a single terminal business.

The annual report records terminal capability investment during FY26, including migration to NAVIS N4, additional diesel-generator capacity, gate-canopy structures and auto-lubrication systems. The disclosed additions are operationally supportive because they should help handling efficiency and resilience, but the report does not quantify a capacity increase, expected return or additional debt burden. The analysis therefore treats them as maintenance and capability improvements rather than evidence of a new growth phase.

The principal operating concern is that transshipment activity is intrinsically sensitive to shipping-line route design and regional disruption. FY26 throughput declined largely because transshipment fell, while management expects new MSC and third-party services and Gulf/Africa opportunities to be supportive in the following year. Those prospects are useful context, not a contracted volume forecast. Investors should require evidence in later operational or compliance disclosures before treating an expected recovery as established.

Mundra concentration has two opposite credit implications. The port's scale, connectivity and sponsor ecosystem support a mature terminal's utilisation and access to customers. Conversely, a disruption at the port, changes in competing terminal capacity, an adverse regulatory or concession development, or a sustained shift in shipping routes could affect the issuer directly. AICTPL does not have APSEZ's portfolio diversification across ports, logistics and other infrastructure assets.

3. Customer and Cargo Exposure

AICTPL is not segment diversified in the usual corporate sense. The credit-relevant segmentation is by customer, cargo type and route economics. MSC is both strategically important and the dominant source of concentration. The company states that revenue from the MSC Group was INR 1,600.89 crore in FY26, or 73.53% of total revenue, compared with INR 1,426.49 crore and 76.03% in FY25. The associated trade receivable was INR 47.96 crore at 31 March 2026. Revenue concentration was therefore modestly lower as a share of revenue but remained high in absolute and relative terms.

Most importantly, the annual report explicitly states that there is no long-term commitment with this large customer and that loss of the customer could adversely affect operating results or cash flow. This independently confirms the prior monitoring concern: sponsor-customer alignment is commercially valuable, but it is not the same as minimum throughput, take-or-pay or a contractual guarantee. The report does not disclose tariff mechanisms, contract tenor, termination rights, minimum volumes or the allocation of cargo among Mundra terminals. Those items remain material due-diligence gaps for a single-terminal credit.

The company ascribes the FY26 volume decline to lower transshipment traffic in a period affected by geopolitical disruption. This is consistent with the risk profile of a hub-related terminal: transshipment may recover with network normalisation, but it can also move rapidly if shipping-line service design changes. The annual report is not sufficiently granular to separate the economic effect of MSC cargo, non-MSC cargo, EXIM traffic, transshipment traffic, tariff movements and currency effects. The credit implication is that volume alone should not be used as a proxy for cash-flow resilience; revenue per TEU, EBITDA per TEU and project-account coverage ratios should be monitored together.

4. Financial Profile and Analysis

The audited statutory accounts show stronger revenue, profit and operating cash flow in FY26 notwithstanding the lower volume. Revenue from operations rose to INR 2,221.34 crore from INR 1,901.60 crore. Total income rose to INR 2,271.41 crore, while operating expenses and revenue-sharing expense rose to INR 498.37 crore and INR 391.07 crore, respectively. Profit before tax increased to INR 734.89 crore and reported profit for the year to INR 851.29 crore, helped by a deferred-tax credit. Because the tax outcome is accounting-driven, it should not be treated as recurring debt-service capacity.

The table below separates audited statutory-account data from the historical compliance-certificate data used in the prior report. The two types of information answer different questions. Statutory cash flow shows the issuer's financial performance and cash movements; project-account CFADS, DSCR, PLCR and reserve balances must come from the compliance-certificate framework and cannot be recreated from statutory accounts.

Metric FY24 FY25 FY26 Credit reading
Throughput (mn TEU) 3.15* 3.31* 3.172 FY26 decline reflects lower transshipment; historical values are certificate-sourced.
Revenue from operations (INR crore) 1,909.2* 1,901.6 2,221.34 FY26 statutory revenue increased despite lower volume.
EBITDA (INR crore) 1,043.7* 1,040.2* Not separately disclosed Do not combine statutory accounts with certificate EBITDA without a reconciliation.
Net cash from operating activities (INR crore) Not obtained 917.40 1,143.58 Increased, but broadly absorbed by disclosed cash uses; project-account coverage remains unconfirmed.
Capex cash flow (INR crore) Not obtained 43.05 125.81 FY26 capex increased but remained below operating cash flow.
Dividend paid (INR crore) Not obtained 502.68 750.80 Larger shareholder distribution is a recurring cash-leakage consideration.
Foreign-currency bonds carrying value including current maturities (INR crore) Not obtained 2,041.33 2,069.13 INR value rose with FX despite scheduled amortisation.
DSCR / PLCR 4.92x / 4.02x* 5.93x / 3.84x* Not disclosed FY26 statutory accounts do not establish current covenant coverage.

*Official AICTPL compliance-certificate data, not statutory-account figures. FY25 statutory comparative amounts in the table (revenue, operating cash flow, capex, dividend and bond carrying value) are the FY26 annual report's audited comparatives; FY24 project-account metrics are from the March 2024 AICTPL compliance certificate.

Operating cash flow increased in FY26, but the disclosed uses broadly absorbed it. INR 1,143.58 crore of operating cash flow was set against INR 125.81 crore of capital expenditure, INR 191.95 crore of non-current borrowing repayment, INR 74.23 crore of interest and finance charges paid, and INR 750.80 crore of dividends—together about INR 1,142.79 crore. The small residual on that statutory-cash-flow comparison is not a project-account CFADS or covenant-coverage calculation; the year-end increase in cash and cash equivalents to INR 87.56 crore should instead be read from the full statutory cash-flow statement, including net investing and other financing movements. Current mutual-fund investments were INR 467.77 crore and other bank balances INR 164.68 crore, but their unrestricted availability to noteholders cannot be inferred from the statutory balance sheet because the note structure includes project accounts and reserve arrangements.

The issuer's debt-service capacity is supported by the maturities disclosed in the annual report. Contractual cash flow for foreign-currency bonds was INR 2,076.89 crore, of which INR 227.60 crore fell within one year and INR 1,849.28 crore within one to five years. Scheduled debt amortisation reduces reliance on a single bullet refinancing, but FX translation means the INR carrying amount can rise even while USD principal amortises. The company reports a fixed 3.00% USD coupon; its economic cost to an INR cash-flow issuer also depends on FX and hedging effects, which remain the more important financial-risk questions.

FY26 recorded INR 217.71 crore of net foreign-exchange loss and INR 28.43 crore of derivative loss, compared with INR 51.97 crore and INR 2.70 crore in FY25. The company states that it uses foreign-currency forwards to manage foreign-currency borrowing, trade-payable and forecast-revenue exposure, and that the USD sensitivity analysis is based on net unhedged exposure. These statements establish active risk management but do not establish full hedging, a fixed hedge ratio or the cash-flow impact of adverse FX moves. The size of the reported FX-related charges reinforces the need to monitor the USD/INR relationship and hedging disclosure rather than relying only on the stated fixed USD coupon.

5. Structural Considerations for Bondholders

The FY26 annual report confirms the notes' basic protection architecture. The notes are described as 3.00% Senior Secured USD Notes, issued in December 2020 and listed on India INX and the Singapore Exchange. They amortise through 19 structured semi-annual instalments starting in September 2021, with final maturity on 16 February 2031. The debt is secured by a first-ranking pari passu charge over present and future immovable property, core assets, tangible and intangible movable assets, book debts, current and non-current assets, cash flows, receivables, revenues, project accounts and specified rights and benefits under relevant undertakings and agreements.

Disclosed note feature FY26 disclosure Credit implication What remains unconfirmed
Instrument 3.00% Senior Secured USD Notes Identifies AICTPL as the obligor and a fixed-coupon secured funding source. Current amount outstanding in USD, market price and all-in FX/hedging cost.
Amortisation 19 structured half-yearly instalments from September 2021 Reduces balloon dependence before 2031. Detailed future principal schedule and any prepayment triggers.
Final maturity 16 February 2031 Defines the final refinancing/repayment horizon. Funding plan for the residual amount.
Security First-ranking pari passu charge over listed assets, cash flows, receivables, revenues, project accounts and specified rights Supports creditor claim and cash-flow monitoring. Perfection, enforcement, priority contests, exclusions and recovery value.
Non-disposal undertakings Issuer core assets and 100% of issued shares until final maturity Restricts disposal risk while the notes remain outstanding. Remedies, release conditions and change-of-control provisions.

The statutory accounts disclose margin-money deposits related to a Senior Debt Service Reserve Account and a Capital Reserve Account, as required by the note terms. This supports the prior view that reserve mechanics are part of the structure. It does not disclose the current DSRA balance, the coverage threshold, cash-trap conditions or the precise order of the waterfall at the FY26 reporting date. The annual report must therefore be read as evidence of an organised security and reserve framework, not as a complete covenant or recovery analysis.

There is no confirmed parent guarantee in the FY26 annual report. APSEZ provides the terminal's port context and is a co-venturer; Mundi/TiL provides a commercial link to MSC. The disclosed shareholding and related-party relationships are credit relevant, but they should not be elevated into legal support for the notes. A stress-case recovery analysis would require the full transaction documents, the concession and assignment arrangements, security-perfection evidence, insurance and termination provisions, and any creditor consents.

6. Capital Structure, Liquidity and Funding

At 31 March 2026, total equity was INR 1,659.84 crore and total liabilities INR 2,373.28 crore. Non-current foreign-currency bonds were INR 1,842.38 crore and current maturities INR 226.75 crore. The company repaid INR 191.95 crore of non-current borrowings during FY26. This demonstrates continued amortisation in the statutory cash-flow statement, although the INR carrying value of the notes rose from INR 2,041.33 crore to INR 2,069.13 crore when current maturities are included, consistent with the importance of FX translation.

The company reported operating cash generation, mutual-fund investments, bank balances and access to facilities agreed with banks and APSEZ, but the unrestricted availability and noteholder accessibility of these resources are unconfirmed. The facilities statement is useful but not equivalent to a committed, unconditional sponsor liquidity guarantee, and the report does not disclose their undrawn amount, pricing, maturity or conditions. Investors should distinguish balance-sheet cash from controlled project-account cash and from any reserve balances required under the notes.

Dividend policy is a central counterweight to the operating cash-flow improvement. AICTPL paid INR 750.80 crore in FY26, compared with INR 502.68 crore in FY25, and proposed a further INR 741.13 crore subject to shareholder approval. The annual report confirms that the proposed dividend was not recognised as a liability at year-end. High distributions are not, by themselves, a credit breach: the issuer generated operating cash, continued debt repayment and maintains disclosed security/reserve arrangements. They nevertheless make the limits on restricted payments, cash traps, debt-service reserves and permitted capex particularly important in a downturn. Those limits remain unconfirmed from the available public materials.

7. Rating Agency View

The current annual report does not provide a current rating-agency rationale or current outlook for the notes. The latest rating information in existing issuer memory came from dated FY25 and September-2025 compliance certificates, which reported S&P BBB-, Fitch BBB- and Moody's Baa3 for the notes, with differing dated outlooks. Those certificate disclosures are useful historical reference only. This report does not present them as current ratings, current outlooks or independent agency conclusions because no updated full rating report was reviewed.

The rating-relevant factors that are independently observable in the FY26 annual report are consistent with the prior analytical framework: a mature port terminal, meaningful sponsor and customer alignment, operating cash generation, structured amortisation and disclosed security support the credit; single-asset risk, MSC concentration without a long-term commitment, dividend leakage, FX exposure and incomplete transaction-document disclosure constrain it. Any rating inference beyond that framework requires current agency materials.

8. Credit Positioning

Qualitatively, AICTPL is stronger structurally than an unsecured operating-company exposure because the notes are secured, amortising and linked to specified project-account and asset protections. It is weaker in business diversification than an APSEZ parent obligation because the repayment source is one terminal, at one port, with customer concentration. The commercial presence of two strong joint-venture sponsors supports the operating model but should not be confused with a legal guarantee.

No live price, yield, G-spread, Z-spread, amount outstanding or secondary-market liquidity was obtained. A definitive relative-value conclusion is therefore not appropriate. Investors comparing AICTPL with APSEZ parent bonds or other Asian port credits should first reconcile security ranking, legal recourse, remaining principal, current ratings, liquidity, FX protection and covenant package rather than treating the issuer as a look-through APSEZ exposure.

9. Key Credit Strengths and Constraints

Credit strengths. The issuer operates an established terminal within Mundra and maintained higher revenue and operating cash flow in FY26 despite weaker throughput. The notes amortise and have a fixed 3.00% USD coupon. The annual report provides meaningful evidence of first-ranking security, project-account linkage, non-disposal undertakings and FX-risk management. These features provide a stronger starting point than an unsecured, bullet-maturity single-asset obligation, although the all-in economic debt burden depends on FX and hedging effects.

Credit constraints. AICTPL remains concentrated in one terminal and one port. MSC represented 73.53% of FY26 revenue, and the company confirms that there is no long-term commitment; a loss of the customer could adversely affect results and cash flow. Transshipment volumes were exposed to geopolitical and route disruption. The disclosed FY26 capex, interest, debt repayment and cash dividend broadly absorbed statutory operating cash flow, so high distributions are a material residual-cash and liquidity constraint even though this does not establish project-account covenant coverage. FX losses and derivative losses demonstrate that the USD debt risk is not eliminated by the existence of hedging instruments. Finally, the full contractual protections, current covenant coverage and enforcement mechanics are not publicly confirmed.

10. Downside Scenarios and Monitoring Triggers

The most immediate downside would be a sustained decline in MSC cargo or a further route-driven reduction in transshipment. Investors should watch terminal throughput, MSC share of revenue and cargo, revenue per TEU, operating cash generation, trade receivable concentration and later compliance-certificate coverage ratios. A return of volumes without cash-flow improvement would not necessarily repair the credit profile.

A second downside is the interaction of distributions, capex and debt service. The FY26 dividend paid was large relative to cash flow, while a further final dividend was proposed. The next compliance certificate should be reviewed for DSCR, PLCR, DSRA, capex reserve, debt amortisation, permitted distributions and no-default certification. Deterioration in these project-account measures would be more informative for bondholders than statutory net profit alone.

A third downside is FX volatility or an imperfect hedge. Reported FX and derivative losses were substantially higher in FY26. Future reporting should clarify net unhedged exposure, hedge tenor, cash-flow currency and the treatment of USD debt service. A material rise in INR debt-service burden, combined with weaker cargo or continued high distributions, would be a more adverse combination than any one factor alone.

Finally, the structural view would change if transaction documents or a rating action clarified legal recourse, cash traps, additional-debt capacity, change-of-control consequences, concession/termination rights or sponsor commitments. Until then, the security disclosure is a positive feature but not a substitute for complete legal diligence.

11. Credit View and Monitoring Focus

AICTPL remains a resilient but concentrated single-terminal secured-note credit on the evidence available. Higher statutory revenue and operating cash flow in FY26 support the current profile, while structured amortisation, disclosed security and non-disposal undertakings provide tangible protection for the 2031 notes. The direction is mixed rather than rapidly deteriorating: lower throughput and transshipment exposure weaken the business-risk picture, while larger operating cash flow was substantially absorbed by capex, interest, scheduled debt repayment and dividends. A rapid change in the credit view is possible if MSC routing or demand weakens materially, if FX losses persist without adequate hedge protection, or if distributions outpace cash resilience; the available information does not establish that such a change is currently occurring.

The main limitation is not a lack of profitability in FY26 but the combination of concentration and information constraints. MSC remained responsible for nearly three quarters of revenue, and the annual report states that there is no long-term commitment. The issuer's economic link to APSEZ and MSC/TiL is helpful, but creditors should rely on the AICTPL note structure and terminal cash flow rather than assume sponsor recourse. The annual report improves confidence in the existence of security, asset and share non-disposal protections, and scheduled amortisation, yet it does not disclose the full covenant and recovery framework.

For bondholders, the next material confirmation point is the post-FY26 compliance certificate rather than another broad corporate update. It should establish the current DSCR, PLCR, reserve balances, scheduled debt service, cash distribution and no-default status. Parallel monitoring should focus on MSC volume/revenue concentration, transshipment recovery, dividend policy, the remaining amortisation path and foreign-currency risk management.

12. Short Summary & Conclusion

AICTPL's FY26 accounts show higher revenue and operating cash flow despite lower container throughput, while capex, debt service and dividends broadly absorbed that statutory operating cash flow. The amortising 2031 senior secured notes benefit from disclosed security, but the credit remains constrained by its single-terminal exposure, MSC concentration without a disclosed long-term commitment and incomplete public covenant documentation. The next compliance certificate is the key source for current debt-service coverage and reserve information.

13. Sources

Unconfirmed items affecting the analysis include the full Offering Circular and Note Trust Deed, current project-account coverage and reserve balances, current rating-agency reports and outlooks, detailed MSC commercial terms, current market pricing and the precise hedge ratio/cash-flow FX mechanics.