Issuer Credit Research
Issuer Flash: China Life Insurance (Overseas) Company Limited
Issuer: China Life Insurance Overseas | Document: Issuer Flash | Date: 2026-08-26 | Event: Macau Fy2025
Report date: 2026-08-26 Event date: 2026-05-27 Event title: Macau Branch FY2025 Audited Summary Accounts
1. Flash Conclusion
Macau Official Gazette No. 21 published FY2025 summarized audited financial statements and an activity statement for China Life Insurance (Overseas) Company Limited's Macau Branch. The filing is modestly supportive for the regional franchise: it confirms MOP12.95bn of premium business income, MOP1.23bn of after-tax profit and MOP100.64bn of assets for the Macau Branch in 2025. The independent auditor reported an unmodified opinion on the underlying branch financial statements dated 29 April 2026.
The credit read-through is deliberately limited. These are Macau Branch-only MOP figures, not China Life Overseas consolidated figures, not Hong Kong Branch figures and not information for China Life Insurance Company Limited, the listed mainland insurer. They do not establish the current Hong Kong RBC position, capital tiers, investment-asset risk, liquidity headroom or the probability of the 2028 call on the Hong Kong Branch USD subordinated capital bonds. The event therefore supports the operating-franchise evidence in the 2026-08-26 issuer summary without changing its cautious security-level view.
2. What Was Announced
The Macau Gazette publication contains a summarized balance sheet, operating account, profit-and-loss statement, a short activity statement and an independent auditor's report for the Macau Branch. The auditor stated that the summary was extracted from the underlying FY2025 audited Macau Branch financial statements, on which an unmodified opinion was issued on 29 April 2026. The report also states that the summary does not contain all disclosures required by Macau financial reporting standards; it is therefore not a substitute for the full audited financial statements.
The activity statement reports premium business income of MOP12.95bn and after-tax profit of MOP1.23bn for 2025. At year-end, total assets were MOP100.64bn and total net situation was MOP7.53bn. Tangible and financial investments were MOP72.85bn, technical provisions were MOP51.30bn and deposits with credit institutions were MOP7.45bn. These figures describe a large local insurance balance sheet whose liabilities and assets are materially connected to policyholder obligations and investment management.
| FY2025 Macau Branch selected data | MOP | Scope and limitation |
|---|---|---|
| Premium business income | 12,946,855,691 | Macau Branch only; not Company revenue |
| Profit after tax | 1,233,541,675 | Macau Branch only; investment gains were material to the result |
| Total assets | 100,639,938,491 | Not a Company-consolidated or Hong Kong Branch asset figure |
| Tangible and financial investments | 72,848,785,000 | Portfolio composition and liquidity are not disclosed in the summary |
| Technical provisions | 51,304,259,132 | Normal core insurer liability category; no RBC inference |
| Total net situation | 7,527,805,526 | Not a Hong Kong regulatory-capital or Company equity measure |
The activity statement repeats Moody's A1 insurer financial strength rating as of 29 April 2026 and S&P A local-currency long-term issuer-credit and insurer-financial-strength ratings as of 8 February 2026. These are company/branch-displayed rating references, not the full primary agency rationales or current security-rating evidence.
3. Credit Read-Through
The positive branch profit and sizeable asset base are useful confirmation that Macau remains a meaningful component of China Life Overseas' Hong Kong-Macau franchise. The result is more informative than an unaudited profile-scale indicator because it is supported by an independent audit of the underlying branch accounts. It also shows that investment income and financial-investment gains are significant to branch earnings, consistent with a life insurer whose credit quality depends on asset performance and liability management as well as premium production.
However, the result does not settle the central questions for the Company or the subordinated bonds. The branch summary does not provide current Hong Kong RBC, capital composition, prescribed-capital headroom, subordinated-capital recognition, ALM duration, surrender or lapse ratios, company-wide investment concentration, a liquidity ladder or a debt maturity profile. The absence of these data means that MOP7.53bn of Macau Branch net situation cannot be treated as a measure of excess capital available to the Hong Kong Branch or as support for the USD notes.
The ranking of the 2023 USD2.0bn dated subordinated capital bonds is unchanged. They were issued by the Hong Kong Branch and rank behind policyholders and non-subordinated creditors, while redemption requires regulatory approval. The Macau Branch balance sheet is not disclosed as collateral or a recovery pool for those bonds. Branch profitability can be a favourable franchise signal, but it is not evidence of call capacity or a legal parent/group guarantee.
The event is directly related to the outstanding themes in the June 2026 additional discussion: RBC headroom, investment risk, policyholder behaviour and the 2028 call. It confirms an audited Macau Branch snapshot only. It neither confirms nor disproves those wider Company/Hong Kong Branch concerns, which remain monitoring items in the issuer summary.
4. What To Watch Next
The highest-value next disclosures are FY2025 or later audited Company-consolidated and Hong Kong Branch financial statements, Hong Kong RBC capital data and capital-tier composition. Investors also need the amount and regulatory recognition of the subordinated securities, investment-asset quality and liquidity, insurance-liability and surrender metrics, and full Moody's and S&P primary rating materials.
For the subordinated bonds, future monitoring should focus on whether capital headroom is maintained without increasing reliance on subordinated instruments, whether policyholder outflows force asset realisation at losses, and whether issuer policy, refinancing conditions and regulatory approval support a 2028 call. Current price, yield, spread and individual-documentation updates have not been verified in this report and should not be inferred from the branch filing.
5. Sources
- Macau Official Gazette No. 21, 27 May 2026, China Life Insurance (Overseas) Company Limited Macau Branch FY2025 summarized audited financial statements and activity statement.
https://bo.dsaj.gov.mo/bo/ii/2026/21/anotariais_cn.asp?printer=1 - China Life Insurance (Overseas) Company profile, for issuer identity and company-displayed rating references.
https://www.chinalife.com.hk/about-us/clo - HKEX offering circular for the Hong Kong Branch USD2.0bn 5.35% dated subordinated capital bonds due 2033, for issuer, ranking and call terms.
https://www1.hkexnews.hk/listedco/listconews/sehk/2023/0816/2023081600153.pdf
Unverified / pending
- FY2025 Company-consolidated and Hong Kong Branch audited financials, Hong Kong RBC, capital tiers and sub-debt recognition.
- Company/Hong Kong Branch investment portfolio, ALM, surrender, liquidity and maturity data.
- Full primary rating reports, current security ratings and rating triggers.
- Current bond price, yield, spread, call policy and regulatory-approval outlook.