Issuer Credit Research

Issuer Flash: China Merchants Port Holdings Company Limited

Issuer: China Merchants Port Holdings | Document: Issuer Flash | Date: 2026-09-02 | Event: H1 2026

Report date: 2026-09-02 Event date: 2026-08-28 Event title: H1 2026 Interim Results

1. Flash Conclusion

China Merchants Port Holdings Company Limited's (CMPort) H1 2026 results are a modestly positive credit read-through. Revenue rose 13.0% year on year to HK$7.297bn, profit attributable to equity holders rose 6.9% to HK$3.832bn, and recurrent profit from port operations rose 19.0% to HK$5.018bn. Container throughput increased 4.5% to 78.21m TEU and operating cash inflow rose 15.0% to HK$4.069bn. Together with lower reported net gearing of 16.2%, higher cash of HK$13.354bn and HK$29.344bn of undrawn bilateral bank facilities, these results support the prior view of CMPort as a relatively resilient port-infrastructure credit with investment-grade credit characteristics. Current ratings and outlooks were not independently reconfirmed in this flash.

The event does not eliminate the constraints identified in the May 2026 issuer summary. Current bank and other borrowings increased to HK$24.411bn and net current liabilities widened to HK$9.497bn at 30 June 2026. The group continues to depend materially on associates and joint ventures for reported profit and cash receipts, while its container volumes remain exposed to trade conditions, shipping-route changes and uneven regional performance. CMPort stated that short-term refinancing pressure was limited, but the commitment terms and conditions of its bilateral facilities were not disclosed in the results announcement. The H1 disclosure therefore improves the operating and liquidity read-through, rather than changing the need to monitor refinancing, associate/JV cash conversion and instrument-specific creditor protection.

2. What Was Announced

The unaudited interim announcement shows broad growth in the operating base. Total container throughput was 78.21m TEU, up 4.5% from 74.85m TEU in H1 2025, while bulk throughput increased 1.7% to 267m tonnes. Container throughput in Mainland China, Hong Kong and Taiwan increased 5.2% to 58.52m TEU, led by the Yangtze River Delta and Bohai Rim. Overseas terminals handled 19.69m TEU, up 2.5%.

The headline growth was not uniform. West Shenzhen Port Zone throughput rose 5.3%, SIPG rose 6.4%, QQCTU rose 8.7% and Tianjin Port Container Terminal rose 6.9%. By contrast, CMCS and MTL in Hong Kong declined 11.2%, which the company attributed to market conditions. Overseas results were also mixed: Terminal Link throughput increased 2.4%, TCP in Brazil increased 4.0% and Kumport in Turkey increased 14.6%, whereas LCT in Togo declined 12.7% and CICT in Sri Lanka declined 2.0%. This dispersion is consistent with a diversified network, but it also shows why group-wide throughput growth should not be read as a fully stable or tariff-like revenue stream.

Revenue grew to HK$7.297bn from HK$6.457bn. The company attributed the increase principally to higher business volumes and improved overseas container mix, including reefer containers and tariff hikes. Gross profit rose to HK$3.806bn from HK$3.290bn, while net finance costs declined to HK$570m from HK$631m. Share of profits from associates and joint ventures was HK$2.819bn, slightly above HK$2.780bn in the prior-year period. These investments therefore remained an important component of the group's earnings, but accounting contribution and creditor-available cash should remain separate analytical concepts.

3. Credit Read-Through

The H1 performance supports CMPort's franchise strength. Higher revenue, recurrent port profit and volumes across the largest domestic port clusters provide evidence that the network's scale and trade connectivity remain valuable. The result is also constructive for the prior concern that higher volume would not necessarily translate into profit. In H1, recurrent profit from port operations rose faster than revenue, although the results alone do not establish that this rate is sustainable through different trade or freight-rate conditions.

Cash conversion was supportive but warrants a measured interpretation. Operating cash inflow increased to HK$4.069bn, including HK$1.027bn of dividends received from associates and JVs, which was broadly flat year on year. That cash receipt supports the practical value of the associate/JV portfolio to CMPort, but it does not remove the distinction between the HK$2.819bn accounting share of associate/JV profits and dividends actually received. Future creditor analysis should continue to test whether dividends and other upstreaming remain aligned with reported associate earnings, especially as overseas capital needs and local restrictions can affect cash mobility.

Reported balance-sheet indicators improved: cash rose from HK$11.743bn at end-2025, total borrowings declined to HK$33.518bn, and net gearing decreased from 19.3% to 16.2%. The company also disclosed HK$29.344bn of undrawn bilateral bank facilities and said it expected no difficulty refinancing short-term loans. These are meaningful liquidity supports, particularly against HK$20.426bn of floating-rate bank loans due within one year. Nevertheless, the rise in current bank and other borrowings and the widening net-current-liability position mean that CMPort remains reliant on ongoing bank-market access and liquidity management. The announcement does not disclose facility commitment strength, covenants, draw conditions or a full debt-service schedule; it cannot therefore substantiate a conclusion that short-term refinancing risk has been eliminated.

For bondholders, the disclosure is supportive for the credit quality of CMPort itself and, where applicable, instruments with an explicit CMPort guarantee. It does not establish legal support from China Merchants Group or the PRC government, nor does it confirm the terms, ranking or protections of any particular CMHI Finance or onshore obligation. The unchanged HK$0.25 per-share interim dividend is consistent with continued shareholder distribution, but its credit significance should be assessed alongside the still-material refinancing requirement and future investment needs rather than in isolation.

4. Key H1 Metrics

Metric H1 2026 Comparator (H1 2025 unless otherwise stated) Credit reading
Revenue HK$7.297bn HK$6.457bn +13.0% reflects stronger business volumes and overseas container mix.
Profit attributable to equity holders HK$3.832bn HK$3.584bn +6.9%; positive earnings progression, but not a standalone cash-flow measure.
Recurrent profit from port operations HK$5.018bn HK$4.218bn +19.0%, supporting the core operating franchise.
Container throughput 78.21m TEU 74.85m TEU +4.5%; diversified growth, with Hong Kong remaining weak.
Operating cash inflow HK$4.069bn HK$3.538bn +15.0%; includes HK$1.027bn dividends from associates/JVs.
Cash and bank balances HK$13.354bn HK$11.743bn at 31 Dec. 2025 Improved immediate liquidity.
Net gearing 16.2% 19.3% at 31 Dec. 2025 Lower reported leverage.
Bank and other borrowings HK$33.518bn HK$34.775bn at 31 Dec. 2025 Total debt declined, while near-term refinancing remains material.

5. What To Watch Next

The next update should test whether the H1 volume and margin improvement persists if trade front-loading unwinds or freight-rate conditions change, with particular attention to Hong Kong throughput, Terminal Link, SIPG-related contribution and the weaker overseas assets. Neither factor was established in this flash as the cause of the reported H1 result. Investors should monitor whether dividends from associates/JVs remain commensurate with accounting earnings, and whether overseas expansion, capex or foreign-exchange conditions require incremental funding.

Liquidity monitoring should focus on the rollover of short-term bank loans, the terms and availability of bilateral facilities, cash by currency and the 2027-2028 note maturities. A current S&P or Moody's release and individual offering circulars, guarantees, cross-default provisions, ranking and covenant packages remain necessary before reaching a security-specific credit conclusion. No live bond-price, yield or peer-spread data was reviewed for this flash.

6. Sources