Issuer Credit Research
Issuer Flash: China Overseas Land & Investment Ltd.
Issuer: Coli | Document: Issuer Flash | Date: 2026-08-28 | Event: H1 2026
Report date: 2026-08-28 Event date: 2026-08-26 Event title: H1 2026 unaudited interim results
1. Flash Conclusion
China Overseas Land & Investment Ltd. (COLI) reported H1 2026 results that reinforce its relative liquidity advantage within Chinese property, but do not yet demonstrate an improvement in underlying earnings quality. Revenue rose 17.3% year on year to RMB97.60bn and contracted sales for the broader Group Series of Companies increased 11.8%. At the same time, gross margin fell to 16.1% from 17.4%, profit attributable to shareholders fell 18.2% to RMB7.03bn, and the contribution from associates and joint ventures dropped materially. The result is therefore consistent with the May issuer-summary view: COLI remains a comparatively defensive state-owned developer, but is not insulated from a weak market, margin pressure or the lag between sales and profit recognition. [1]
The more credit-positive part of the release is the balance-sheet and cash-flow trend. Reported cash increased to RMB121.10bn, total debt declined by RMB10.15bn from end-2025 to RMB237.22bn, net gearing reduced to 27.2% from 34.2%, and the company reported RMB28.52bn of net operating cash inflow. Average borrowing cost remained low at 2.76%. These metrics support refinancing capacity and delivery resilience relative to the sector. They do not, however, establish that all reported cash is freely transferable to offshore creditors: RMB16.79bn was regulated pre-sale proceeds and 94.7% of cash was RMB-denominated. The H1 release does not provide a full entity-, currency- and creditor-level liquidity bridge; issuer/guarantor documentation and remittance analysis remain items for the relevant bond documents or a dedicated subsequent review. [1][2]
2. H1 Results: Revenue Growth Did Not Lift Attributable Earnings
The H1 income statement showed a split between top-line delivery and earnings available to shareholders. Consolidated revenue rose to RMB97.60bn from RMB83.22bn, while gross profit rose to RMB15.71bn from RMB14.46bn. The gross margin nevertheless declined by 1.3 percentage points to 16.1%. Operating profit increased modestly to RMB12.55bn from RMB12.12bn, helped by lower selling and distribution expense, but this was not sufficient to protect attributable earnings. Profit attributable to shareholders fell to RMB7.03bn from RMB8.60bn and core attributable profit was RMB7.93bn. [1]
Two disclosed items explain why the revenue increase should not be read as a broad improvement in credit earnings. First, share of profits from associates and joint ventures fell to RMB0.17bn from RMB1.26bn. Second, the group recorded a RMB0.74bn net fair-value loss on investment properties after a small gain a year earlier. These items are not the same as a cash-loss event, but they underscore the sensitivity of shareholder earnings to joint-venture performance and property values. The lower margin also means that delivery growth alone is not evidence that the economics of the current development pipeline have recovered. [1]
| Metric | H1 2026 | H1 2025 | Credit reading |
|---|---|---|---|
| Revenue | RMB97.60bn | RMB83.22bn | Delivery and revenue recognition increased, but not enough to reverse margin pressure. |
| Gross margin | 16.1% | 17.4% | Earnings quality remained constrained. |
| Attributable profit | RMB7.03bn | RMB8.60bn | Down 18.2%; the result does not support a profit-recovery conclusion. |
| Core attributable profit | RMB7.93bn | Not stated in the comparative headline | Useful adjusted measure, but still should be read with margin and collection evidence. |
| Net operating cash inflow | RMB28.52bn | Not stated in the H1 2026 release comparison table | A meaningful liquidity support, subject to cash restrictions and deployment. |
Commercial operations provided recurring diversification but remain supplementary to development. Commercial revenue was RMB3.58bn, broadly flat from RMB3.54bn, while segment result declined to RMB0.88bn from RMB1.98bn. The reported 78% office and 95.3% shopping-mall occupancy rates do not change the residential development business's role as the core repayment base. [1]
3. Liquidity Improved, but Cash Fungibility Remains the Bondholder Constraint
COLI's headline financial metrics improved further in H1. Reported bank deposits and cash rose to RMB121.10bn from RMB103.63bn at end-2025 and total interest-bearing debt fell to RMB237.22bn; net current assets were RMB361.67bn and the current ratio was 2.4x. Debt due within one year was RMB64.86bn, including RMB29.85bn maturing in H2 2026. COLI also reported RMB49.51bn of undrawn banking facilities. During H1 it raised RMB8.44bn onshore and offshore and repaid RMB17.51bn of debt, producing RMB9.07bn of net debt repayment. [1]
That profile remains a material strength for bondholders in a sector where access to ordinary bank and bond funding has become highly differentiated. However, the relevant stress test is not simply reported cash divided by consolidated debt. The release states that cash includes RMB16.79bn of regulated pre-sale proceeds; most cash was denominated in RMB, with only 4.2% in Hong Kong dollars and 0.5% in US dollars. It does not provide a full public bridge from cash by entity and currency to offshore-note debt service. Consequently, the release improves confidence in consolidated liquidity and domestic refinancing access, while leaving the prior caution on offshore cash availability intact. Legal issuer/guarantor structure and remittance capacity require confirmation from the relevant bond documents or a dedicated review, rather than from this H1 disclosure. [1][2]
The ownership chain through COHL and central-SOE parent CSCEC remains an important support factor for funding access and ratings. It is not an explicit government or parent guarantee for COLI's bonds. The interim-results announcement provides no new guarantee, keepwell, offshore-facility or bond-documentation evidence. [1][2]
4. Sales and Land Strategy: Relative Strength with Capital-Allocation Risk
The sales data are favourable in relative terms but need careful scope control. The Group Series of Companies — which includes the consolidated Group, associates, joint ventures and China Overseas Grand Oceans Group (COGO) — reported RMB134.35bn of contracted sales, up 11.8%, while sales area declined 12.1% to 4.50mn square metres. The consolidated Group's own contracted sales were RMB94.10bn, or 70.0% of the series total. The combination of higher value and lower area is compatible with a more favourable city or price mix; it is not, by itself, proof of broad volume recovery. [1]
The company continued to concentrate sales in major cities. The Group Series excluding COGO generated RMB78.99bn in Hong Kong, Beijing, Shanghai, Guangzhou and Shenzhen, equal to 68.6% of Group Series contracted sales excluding COGO. This supports COLI's relative franchise and collection prospects, but it does not remove the need to test project-level selling prices, collection rates and embedded margins. [1]
Capital allocation is the main counterweight to the deleveraging evidence. COLI acquired nine parcels during H1 at attributable land premium of RMB7.66bn. The Chairman's Statement separately disclosed nine acquisitions after 30 June, with attributable land premium of RMB25.68bn, taking 2026 year-to-date attributable land premium to RMB33.34bn. This can strengthen the future project pipeline in core locations, but makes it important to monitor whether the post-period acquisitions and the resulting year-to-date commitment outpace collections and reverse the H1 reduction in debt. The statement gives aggregate spending, not the margins or cash-conversion profiles of the acquired projects. [1]
5. What To Watch Next
- Whether H2 collections and operating cash flow remain positive as the nine post-period acquisitions and the RMB33.34bn year-to-date attributable land commitment are funded, and whether net gearing remains below the end-2025 level.
- Gross-margin progression, associate/JV contributions and the project mix behind sales-value growth; H1 sales growth should not be extrapolated into an earnings recovery without these disclosures.
- The amount of restricted, project-level and offshore-available cash; the H1 release confirms regulated pre-sale proceeds but not a complete offshore-usable-liquidity bridge.
- The refinancing of RMB29.85bn of H2 2026 maturities, the full offshore maturity schedule, and any evidence of guarantees, keepwells or facilities directly available to offshore creditors.
- Whether the expansion of land purchases remains disciplined relative to sales collections, debt reduction and the margin outlook of newly acquired sites.
6. Sources
- [1] China Overseas Land & Investment Ltd., Announcement of Unaudited Interim Results for the Six Months Ended 30 June 2026, 26 August 2026, official company/HKEX announcement content, retrieved through the FinancialReports.eu mirror: https://cdn.financialreports.eu/financialreports/media/filings/49395/2026/RNS/49395_rns_2026-08-26_c67dad0e-c7bc-472d-a3a9-17628a48533b.pdf. Used for H1 financial statements, sales, liquidity, debt, cash composition, commercial operations, funding and land-acquisition disclosures.
- [2]
issuer_summary/issuers/coli/current/coli_issuer_summary_20260512.md, 12 May 2026;issuer_summary/issuers/coli/issuer_notes.md. Used only for the prior credit view, ownership/support caution and unresolved offshore-structure questions; no new rating or bond-documentation conclusion is drawn from them.