Issuer Credit Research

Issuer Flash: Huatai Securities Co., Ltd.

Issuer: Huatai Securities | Document: Issuer Flash | Date: 2026-08-17 | Event: H1 2026 Performance Forecast

Report date: 2026-08-17 Event date: 2026-07-15 Event title: 2026 First-Half Performance Forecast

1. Flash Conclusion

Huatai Securities' forecast for a 50%-55% year-on-year increase in first-half 2026 attributable profit is credit-positive in the narrow sense that it points to materially stronger earnings and prospective internal capital generation than in the prior-year period. The Company reports significant year-on-year revenue growth in each of its four major business lines—wealth management, institutional services, investment management and international business—as capital-market conditions improved and trading activity remained high. This is a broader management-reported revenue signal than a disclosure limited to one named business line, but the forecast does not quantify the segment contributions or establish the durability or composition of that uplift.

It does not, however, justify a broader change in the existing issuer credit view. This is a preliminary, unaudited profit forecast, not the 2026 interim financial report. It supplies neither end-June regulatory capital and liquidity ratios nor balance-sheet, repo, derivatives, collateral, funding-tenor, cash-flow or offshore-liquidity data. For a market-funded securities company, those omissions are material: stronger earnings can replenish buffers, but they do not by themselves establish the risk volume, funding resilience or legal protection available to a particular bondholder. The forecast is therefore a positive earnings signal, while the carried-forward conclusion in the latest issuer summary—that Huatai remains market-sensitive and should be monitored through capital, liquidity and funding indicators—is unchanged.

2. What Was Announced

Huatai's 15 July announcement forecasts attributable profit to shareholders of the parent of RMB11.324bn to RMB11.702bn for the six months ended 30 June 2026. This would be RMB3.775bn to RMB4.153bn above the RMB7.549bn reported for the comparable 2025 period, or growth of 50%-55%. Forecast attributable profit excluding non-recurring items is RMB11.333bn to RMB11.706bn, up RMB3.877bn to RMB4.250bn, or 52%-57%, from RMB7.456bn in H1 2025.

Item H1 2026 forecast H1 2025 comparator Year-on-year change
Attributable profit to parent shareholders RMB11.324bn-11.702bn RMB7.549bn +50% to +55%
Attributable profit excluding non-recurring items RMB11.333bn-11.706bn RMB7.456bn +52% to +57%
Basic earnings per share Not forecast RMB0.80 Not disclosed

Management attributes the increase to an overall favourable capital-market environment and sustained high trading activity. It says that revenue in wealth management, institutional services, investment management and international business rose significantly year on year, and that first-half operating performance reached a record level for the period. The announcement states that there is no material uncertainty expected to affect the accuracy of the forecast. It also makes clear that the figures are preliminary accounting estimates, have not been audited, and are subject to the Company's formally disclosed interim report.

3. Credit Read-Through

The forecast is stronger than a simple continuation of the prior year's profit trend. For context, Huatai reported Q1 2026 attributable profit of RMB4.800bn in its unaudited quarterly report. Deducting that reported figure from the new H1 forecast implies Q2 attributable profit of RMB6.524bn to RMB6.902bn. This is a calculation, not a Company-disclosed Q2 result. Using the RMB3.907bn implied Q2 2025 comparator—H1 2025 attributable profit less Q1 2025 attributable profit—the implied range is roughly 67%-77% higher year on year. The calculation supports the view that the expected first-half improvement accelerated after Q1, but it should not be treated as a substitute for the actual interim accounts or annualised into a full-year earnings assumption.

For creditors, the immediate benefit is stronger prospective loss-absorption capacity through retained earnings, provided that the final results, capital policy and asset growth are consistent with the forecast. The Company's reference to significant revenue growth across its four major businesses is a positive management-reported indication of breadth, but it is not evidence that the uplift is recurring or capital-light. The announcement does not quantify segment revenue, distinguish fees from trading or fair-value income, or disclose the degree of capital consumption and market risk associated with the higher activity. It is consequently not possible to assess from this disclosure whether the improvement is primarily recurring, transaction-driven, valuation-sensitive or accompanied by greater balance-sheet deployment.

The route from higher forecast profit to a stronger credit position is conditional. First, the formal interim accounts need to confirm the estimated profit and identify whether the principal drivers are sufficiently repeatable through a less favourable market environment. Second, the benefit to creditors depends on the share of earnings retained after distributions and on whether growth in trading, margin-financing, derivatives or other risk assets absorbs the resulting capital. Third, higher market activity is not itself evidence of liquidity resilience: activity may improve revenue while also increasing settlement balances, collateral requirements, repo usage or exposure to market-price changes. The forecast supports a better starting point for capital formation than a weak earnings outcome would, but it cannot demonstrate the balance-sheet and funding effects that determine how much of that benefit is preserved.

The result provides limited confirmation against the current additional discussion's hypothesis of an immediate broad-based fee and franchise contraction: management says each major business line recorded significant revenue growth. It does not test the discussion's central liquidity and capital questions. In particular, it does not disclose the composition or funding of trading inventory, repo terms, derivative collateral calls, unencumbered liquidity, parent capital leverage, LCR, NSFR, or the stand-alone liquidity of offshore entities. The forecast should therefore not be used to infer that current regulatory headroom has increased, that short-term funding risk has diminished, or that support expectations amount to a legal guarantee.

As a carried-forward assessment from the 21 May 2026 issuer summary, Huatai's broad franchise and Jiangsu-related support expectations remain credit strengths, while its earnings and funding capacity remain tied to capital-market conditions. These support expectations are not a legal guarantee. Investors in offshore structures should continue to verify the issuer, guarantor, guarantee scope and final terms of each instrument rather than transferring a stronger parent profit forecast automatically to every group obligation.

4. What To Watch Next

5. Sources