Issuer Credit Research
Issuer Flash: PT Pertamina Geothermal Energy Tbk
Issuer: Pertamina Geothermal Energy | Document: Issuer Flash | Date: 2026-08-18 | Event: Q1 2026 Green Book
Report date: 2026-08-18 Event date: 2026-06-05 Event title: Q1 2026 Results and Green Book Funding
1. Flash Conclusion
PGE's 5 June announcement is credit-positive at the margin: first-quarter earnings and geothermal production improved, while the inclusion of three expansion projects in Indonesia's 2026 Green Book provides stated concessional on-lending allocations totalling US$477.87mn from JICA and the World Bank. The event reinforces the existing view that the issuer has sound near-term operating and liquidity capacity. It does not, however, establish that final loan agreements have been executed, that the loans have been drawn, that all conditions have been met, or that the funding will leave the USD400mn 5.15% notes due April 2028 unaffected.
For bondholders, the most useful change is greater visibility over the funding path for 160MW of named projects: Lumut Balai Units 3 and 4 and Lahendong Units 7–8. Lower-cost, longer-tenor concessional funding would be constructive if committed and deployed as described. Until loan agreements, drawdown schedules, total project costs, PPA economics and the balance of sponsor equity are disclosed, the package should be read as project-finance access rather than as cash immediately available to repay debt or fund dividends.
2. What Was Announced
PGE reported Q1 2026 revenue of US$116.56mn, up 14.8% year on year, and net profit of US$43.90mn, up 40.0%. Electricity production rose 15.22% to 1,370GWh. These figures are consistent with the 31 March interim financial statements that were already incorporated into the current issuer summary, but the June announcement links the improving operating performance to a more developed expansion-funding narrative.
The company said that three projects were included in Bappenas' 2026 Green Book, formally the Foreign Loan Priority Plan List. The release describes the projects as being under an on-lending scheme using concessional loans and gives stated lender allocations. PGE also notes that the projects previously appeared in the 2025–2029 Blue Book after meeting stated readiness requirements. This provides meaningful policy alignment and a defined financing route, but it is not a substitute for facility agreements, lender conditions, government on-lending terms or evidence of cash drawdown.
3. Credit Read-Through
The financial outcome is supportive but should be read together with cash flow and the planned investment cycle. At end-March 2026, PGE reported cash of US$745.21mn against calculated gross interest-bearing debt of about US$748.97mn, including the USD400mn global green bond. Current long-term loans and current lease liabilities were US$18.23mn and US$1.61mn, respectively, which indicates limited near-term scheduled balance-sheet debt pressure relative to cash. This near-net-cash position limits immediate payment-capacity pressure, and FY2025 operating cash flow of US$313.52mn demonstrates the cash-generative capacity of the established geothermal portfolio.
The Q1 comparison is nevertheless a reason to retain, rather than relax, monitoring discipline. Q1 operating cash flow declined to US$53.31mn from US$77.47mn a year earlier, while fixed-asset additions were US$28.61mn versus US$30.11mn. The release and the interim statements do not provide a project-by-project explanation sufficient to determine whether the cash-flow change reflects timing, tax, receivables, working capital, maintenance or a more persistent effect. Nor do they disclose a complete 2026–2029 capex budget, unused committed facilities or the future dividend policy. A single quarter of higher accounting earnings therefore does not by itself demonstrate a structural increase in free cash flow through the development period.
This distinction matters for the 2028 notes. Cash exceeding the bond principal at a point in time is a material liquidity strength, but the same cash supports operating needs, maintenance, expansion spending, debt service and potential distributions. PGE has not stated in this event whether it intends to redeem the notes from cash, refinance them, combine these choices, or use other funding sources. The Green Book projects have stated COD dates in 2030–2032, whereas the bond matures in April 2028. Their financing route may therefore improve the medium-term capex architecture without determining the nearer-term maturity solution.
The result is a favourable starting position rather than a completed funding solution. The reported cash balance gives PGE time to make financing choices, while the high share of long-term funding reduces immediate amortisation pressure. The relevant downside case is not simply a lower quarterly profit number: it is a combination of weaker availability or collections, a larger-than-expected development funding requirement, delayed project disbursements, a decision to retain less cash through dividends, and a less receptive refinancing market before 2028. The June announcement provides no evidence that any of those variables has become adverse, but it also does not provide sufficient detail to exclude them. Bondholders should therefore treat subsequent disclosure of loan documentation and liquidity policy as more decision-useful than the Green Book headline alone.
The stated loan package is more relevant to medium-term credit quality. The three projects total 160MW and have target CODs of 2030–2032, beyond the 2028 note maturity. If finalised on concessional terms, it could reduce the cost and tenor mismatch associated with growth capex and preserve financial flexibility. Conversely, construction, geothermal-resource, procurement, PPA, drawdown and completion risks remain with PGE. New loans would also add to future gross debt even if they are economically preferable to commercial funding. The release provides no basis to assume that the project loans are a substitute for a disclosed refinancing, redemption or liquidity-reserve strategy for the 2028 notes.
The announcement does not change the need to distinguish PGE's operating capacity from its rating support. The prior issuer summary relies on Fitch's 14 April 2026 action, which assigned PGE a BBB- / Negative IDR and described a bb standalone credit profile with parent-subsidiary linkage. That is dated rating context to monitor, rather than proof of a legal payment undertaking. Long-term PLN-linked contracts, low fuel-price exposure and the Pertamina relationship remain helpful, but none is an explicit guarantee of the offshore notes. The funding-development route is constructive for the Pertamina group's energy-transition strategy; it should not be treated as a government or parent guarantee.
4. Key Figures and Project Funding
| Item | Q1 2026 / project detail | Credit reading |
|---|---|---|
| Revenue | US$116.56mn; +14.8% YoY | Supports contracted geothermal cash-generation profile, subject to collections and operating reliability. |
| Net profit | US$43.90mn; +40.0% YoY | Positive earnings momentum, but not a complete proxy for cash available for debt service or capex. |
| Electricity production | 1,370GWh; +15.22% YoY | Operationally constructive; well, availability and outage data remain needed. |
| Lumut Balai Unit 3 | 55MW; JICA US$158.86mn; target COD 2030 | Stated concessional-funding route; agreement, drawdown and final project economics not disclosed. |
| Lumut Balai Unit 4 | 55MW; JICA US$148.97mn; target COD 2032 | Extends the capex horizon beyond the 2028 note maturity. |
| Lahendong Units 7–8 | 50MW; World Bank US$170.04mn; target COD 2030 | Adds development and execution exposure alongside potential lower-cost funding. |
5. What To Watch Next
- Confirm executed JICA and World Bank on-lending documentation, lenders' final commitments, conditions precedent, drawdown timing, currency, pricing, tenor, security and any government or Pertamina support obligations.
- Track construction milestones, resource and well performance, final PPA/tariff economics, total capex and the equity/debt allocation for the three projects.
- Monitor operating cash flow, cash retention, dividends and gross debt as the development program advances; distinguish production and profit improvement from sustainable free-cash-flow improvement.
- Seek a disclosed strategy for the April 2028 global green bond before the maturity enters the near-term refinancing window, including the role of cash, new bank debt, capital markets and any parent support.
- Continue to monitor Fitch's view of PGE's parent-subsidiary linkage and the Indonesia/Pertamina rating trajectory, while not relying on that linkage as a legal guarantee.
6. Sources
- PT Pertamina Geothermal Energy Tbk, Business Performance in Q1 2026 Strengthens, Three PGE Geothermal Projects Secure International Funding of Up to US$477.87 Million, 5 June 2026, https://pge.pertamina.com/en/press-release/business-performance-in-q1-2026-strengthens-three-pge-geothermal-projects-secure-international-funding-of-up-to-us477-87-million — event, Q1 headline figures, Green Book projects, stated lenders, amounts and target CODs.
- PT Pertamina Geothermal Energy Tbk, Interim Consolidated Financial Statements as of and for the three-month period ended 31 March 2026, project-local official PDF
issuer_summary/issuers/pertamina_geothermal_energy/data/pge_financial_statement_q1_2026.pdf— cash, debt, operating cash flow and fixed-asset additions. - PGE current issuer summary dated 18 May 2026 and structured official-source extract — prior credit view, bond context and Fitch's 14 April 2026 rating-action context; the rating linkage is not a legal guarantee.