Issuer Credit Research

KB Securities Co., Ltd. Issuer Summary

Issuer: Kb Securities | Document: Issuer Summary | Date: 2026-09-04

Report date: 2026-09-04
Issuer: KB Securities Co., Ltd. and subsidiaries ("KB Securities" or the "Group")
Relevant bond context: issuer-level debt and other obligations of KB Securities; individual security terms, guarantors, collateral, ranking and resolution treatment have not been reviewed.

1. Business Snapshot and Recent Developments

KB Securities is a Korean full-service securities company wholly owned by KB Financial Group Inc. ("KBFG"). It should be assessed as a market-based financial institution rather than as a deposit-funded commercial bank. Its capacity to meet obligations is consequently influenced by the resilience of brokerage and wealth-management activity, investment-banking and capital-markets execution, trading and investment-book valuations, counterparty performance, collateral arrangements and access to secured and unsecured funding. The parent relationship and a meaningful domestic franchise are material supports to market access and confidence. They are not, however, evidence of an unconditional KBFG guarantee of any obligation issued by KB Securities.

The most recent information supports a constructive, but qualified, picture of operating momentum. KBFG's 1H26 presentation reported KRW796.3bn of profit attributable to controlling interests for KB Securities, against KRW338.9bn in 1H25, alongside a reported 21.04% ROE. It also showed gross operating income of KRW1,853.1bn, compared with KRW1,058.1bn a year earlier. These are subsidiary figures based on financial statements for group reporting, not an audited interim consolidated KB Securities filing, and are therefore used here as a group-reporting view of the first half rather than as a continuation of the audited issuer series. The same presentation attributes the wider group result to capital-market-related fee growth and presents a clear step-up in KB Securities' fee income. That combination demonstrates franchise capacity in a favorable market environment, but it does not establish a new through-the-cycle earnings floor.

The audited FY2025 consolidated accounts are the strongest foundation for balance-sheet and risk analysis. Samil PricewaterhouseCoopers issued an unqualified opinion dated 5 March 2026 on the consolidated statements for the years ended 31 December 2025 and 2024 under Korean IFRS. The audit therefore establishes the legal issuer group, the two annual reporting dates and the accounting basis for the financial-statement discussion below. It does not, by itself, establish the legal issuer of an individual note, the status of an individual holder, or a regulatory capital or liquidity buffer as at September 2026.

The audited accounts show a larger consolidated balance sheet at end-2025: total assets were KRW76.5tn, up from KRW63.4tn at end-2024. Financial assets at fair value through profit or loss (FVTPL) were KRW42.8tn and financial assets at fair value through other comprehensive income (FVOCI) were KRW9.5tn. Borrowings were KRW37.8tn and deposit liabilities were KRW12.1tn. These categories are economically important because market valuations, funding terms and collateral calls can move together during stress. They should not be read as a commercial-bank deposit franchise or as a demonstrated liquidity reserve. In particular, cash and deposits, although KRW4.1tn at end-2025 in the audited accounts, are an accounting balance at a point in time rather than a disclosed stress-liquidity buffer available to all unsecured creditors.

Two capital actions require deliberately different treatment. KBFG's July 2026 investor presentation describes a KRW700bn Phase 1 capital injection into KB Securities in February 2026. The wording and timing support treating that action as reported/completed parent capital support in the period covered by the presentation. The same document describes a further KRW1.0tn Phase 2 injection in July 2026 as an action to support non-interest-income growth and strengthen capital for future growth. The reviewed materials do not confirm execution, receipt, terms or accounting treatment of that second action. This report consequently excludes the planned KRW1.0tn from current loss-absorption analysis. It is an important monitoring item, not capital that can be credited today.

The issuer's own financial-information pages add a more current, but materially less assured, reference point. They state Korean IFRS and report 2026.2Q cumulative/end-June values, including KRW102.8tn of total assets, KRW8.2tn of cash and deposits, KRW44.5tn of borrowing liabilities and KRW8.2tn of total equity. The pages do not state an audit or review status, and the reporting perimeter and category mapping have not been reconciled to the annual audited group statements or to the KBFG group-reporting presentation. Those figures are presented later in a separate table, labelled issuer-published and indicative. They must not be combined into an apparently homogeneous FY2024–1H26 financial series, used to derive regulatory ratios, or treated as proof of current liquidity adequacy.

The practical credit question is therefore not whether the latest earnings are strong in isolation. It is whether the Group's client franchise and parent relationship can keep earnings, market access and loss absorption sufficiently resilient when market activity weakens, financial-asset values move adversely, counterparties demand more collateral or funding becomes more expensive. The available evidence supports a positive answer on franchise relevance and current profitability, but leaves important legal-entity funding, stress-liquidity and regulatory-capital questions open.

2. Industry Position and Franchise Strength

KB Securities operates in a Korean securities market in which client activity, market turnover, underwriting volumes, asset prices and risk appetite can affect multiple revenue lines simultaneously. A full-service model can diversify revenue between brokerage, wealth management, debt and equity capital markets, advisory, investment finance, trading and balance-sheet activities. It does not remove market cyclicality: client asset values influence fees and activity; issuance windows influence underwriting and advisory fees; and rate, credit, equity and foreign-exchange moves can affect inventories, derivatives, hedges, collateral and counterparties. Credit analysis should therefore distinguish evidence of franchise depth from evidence of stable funding.

The best disclosed indicators point to a meaningful domestic franchise without providing a complete peer-credit ranking. KBFG reported retail AUM of KRW289.5tn for KB Securities as at June 2026, institutional stock-market share of 12.9%, and a No.1 position in its cited DCM league table. The presentation also showed brokerage AUM of KRW212tn at June 2026, compared with KRW107tn at June 2025. These measures suggest broad client reach, institutional execution capability and a significant role in domestic capital markets. They can support customer relationships, fee generation and market access. They cannot establish a universal ranking across Korean or global securities firms, superior credit quality to named peers, or the reliability of AUM as a source of stressed cash liquidity.

The retail-AUM indicator matters principally because it points to a potentially recurring client-relationship base. A larger managed or advised asset base can create brokerage, distribution, fund, structured-product and wealth-management revenues; it can also provide cross-selling and information benefits. Yet client AUM belongs economically to clients rather than the Group. Its market value and associated activity can fall in a risk-off period, and investor withdrawals can reduce fee-generating balances at the same time that securities-market revenues become weaker. For bondholders, the relevant inference is modest: a large disclosed franchise may support the capacity to generate revenue across cycles, but it is not a pool of unencumbered liquidity and does not substitute for a disclosed liquidity stress test.

The 12.9% institutional stock-market-share disclosure complements the retail data. Institutional participation can deepen execution, research, clearing and capital-markets relationships, while a recognizable domestic platform may be useful when issuance and secondary-market conditions normalize. It also means the firm is exposed to the behavior of sophisticated counterparties, market infrastructure and trading volumes. Institutional customers may be more sensitive to execution quality, pricing, counterparty confidence and the terms of collateralized dealings than retail relationship metrics alone would imply. This creates a two-sided credit effect: scale may aid access, but it also increases the importance of robust risk controls and funding continuity.

The DCM No.1 disclosure is similarly supportive but bounded. It provides evidence that KB Securities held a leading position in the cited DCM league-table measure at the stated time. It does not demonstrate recurring underwriting economics, underwriting risk limits, distribution capacity in a closed market, or any superiority in broader investment-banking, trading, risk or credit performance. League-table positions can move with deal flow, measurement definitions and market windows. This report consequently uses the DCM observation as qualitative evidence of franchise relevance, not as a peer-rating conclusion or a market-value recommendation.

Parent ownership is another important part of the franchise context. KBFG reported 100% ownership of KB Securities in its 1H26 subsidiary overview. Ownership can enhance brand recognition, shared customer access, strategic alignment and the likelihood that the parent considers the subsidiary important to group capital-markets earnings. The February 2026 KRW700bn injection gives concrete, albeit limited, evidence that the parent allocated capital to the subsidiary during an improving capital-market environment. Nonetheless, a parent can have competing demands on capital, may face regulatory constraints, and need not be legally required to support every subsidiary obligation. The quality of support to a particular creditor cannot be inferred from ownership, a group presentation or a prior injection alone.

The available materials therefore support a characterization of KB Securities as a significant Korean securities franchise within a large financial group. They do not support descriptions such as a top overall Korean credit, a leading regional securities credit, or a direct peer ranking against firms for which comparable capital, liquidity, legal-structure, exposure and market-price data have not been reviewed. This distinction is important. A strong franchise can lower the probability that a temporary market slowdown becomes immediately existential; it cannot make the path from a market shock to funding and collateral demands disappear.

The franchise evidence is also not a substitute for conduct, technology and operational-risk information. In a securities company, operational failures, cyber incidents, misconduct, product disputes or a breakdown in systems can impair client confidence and counterparty behavior as quickly as a poor trading quarter. The audited accounts discuss risk management, but the reviewed materials do not provide a current, decision-ready assessment of operational-loss history, conduct provisions or contingency funding under a severe non-financial event. These are monitoring gaps rather than assertions of weakness.

3. Segment Assessment

The source set does not provide a fully reconciled statutory segment-profit table for the issuer's annual audited consolidated accounts. The appropriate approach is therefore to assess revenue channels using disclosed group-reporting income categories and the business model, while avoiding invented segment allocations or estimates of segment risk-weighted assets, VaR, economic capital or stress losses. The 1H26 figures below are based on each subsidiary's financial statements for group reporting, as stated by KBFG. They are not audited interim KB Securities consolidated figures and should not be added to the annual audited financial profile.

1H26 group-reporting income view KRW bn 1H25 KRW bn Reported change / reading Basis and limitation
Net interest income 311.8 324.4 Lower year on year; demonstrates a funding and investment-income component but not a deposit-bank NIM KBFG subsidiary group reporting; not reconciled to audited issuer accounts
Net fee and commission income 1,150.7 410.4 Material increase; strongest disclosed evidence of capital-markets and client-franchise momentum Same basis; category composition and recurring share not fully disclosed
Other operating income 390.6 323.3 Higher; likely market-sensitive components require caution Same basis; do not treat as a stable segment margin
Gross operating income 1,853.1 1,058.1 Substantial uplift in reported earnings capacity Same basis; not a normalized or audited interim measure
G&A expenses 753.3 537.2 Costs also rose, but less than gross operating income Same basis
Provision for credit losses 49.8 82.0 Lower reported provision charge Does not establish asset-quality resilience or a comprehensive credit-cost ratio
Profit attributable to controlling interests 796.3 338.9 Strong 1H26 profit Group-reporting measure; not a forecast of full-year profitability

Client-facing brokerage, wealth management and fee activity appear to be the main supports to the first-half uplift. The more than doubling of disclosed net fee and commission income, together with retail AUM and brokerage-AUM indicators, shows that KB Securities was able to monetize favorable client activity and capital-market conditions. Credit-positive aspects include the diversification of revenue beyond a single interest-income stream and the possibility that client relationships generate repeat business. The limit is that the materials do not break fee income into recurring management fees, brokerage commissions, placement fees, advisory fees, structured-product commissions or one-off transaction fees. It is therefore not possible to quantify how much of the increase is repeatable in weaker markets.

The investment-banking and DCM franchise can supplement retail and institutional activity through origination, underwriting, distribution and advisory. The disclosed DCM standing is consistent with an ability to participate in domestic deal flow. For creditors, that contributes to earnings capacity and market relevance, but it also embeds cyclicality. In a weaker issuance environment, pipelines can be delayed, client risk appetite can retreat, and underwriting positions can become harder to distribute. Without granular annual or interim disclosures on underwriting commitments, bridge exposures, pipeline risk, hedging and risk limits, the current information does not allow a precise assessment of the balance-sheet risk connected to investment-finance growth.

Trading, financial-instrument and foreign-exchange activities are particularly important to the credit profile because their gross accounting income and expense can be large. In the FY2025 audited accounts, gains on valuation and disposal of financial instruments were KRW9.69tn and the corresponding losses were KRW9.43tn; gains on foreign-currency transactions were KRW1.20tn and losses were KRW1.10tn. The net contribution cannot be inferred simply from a single gross line, and it would be misleading to call those gross income figures stable revenue. Rather, they demonstrate the scale of market-facing activity and the importance of valuation, hedging, funding and counterparty risk management. In favorable conditions, this activity can enhance earnings. Under stress, the same channels can transmit shocks through P/L, margin, collateral, hedges and financing.

Interest income was KRW1.77tn in FY2025 and interest expense KRW1.13tn in the audited accounts. This demonstrates that the Group has a material funding, financing and investment-income component, but it does not justify applying commercial-bank measures such as a loan-to-deposit ratio, net-interest-margin benchmark or deposit-franchise stability conclusion. Borrowings, deposit liabilities, repos, securities lending, derivative collateral and other financial liabilities can all be relevant to the funding model. The reviewed source set does not give an up-to-date maturity-by-currency, secured/unsecured or encumbrance profile that would permit a reliable funding-stability conclusion.

The audited accounts also disclose financial assets measured at amortised cost of KRW10.65tn at end-2025, which include loans and other assets, and a KRW49.8bn 1H26 group-reporting provision for credit losses. These facts justify treating credit risk and asset quality as relevant. They do not provide enough evidence to calculate or interpret a non-performing-loan ratio, allowance coverage, concentration profile or project-finance/alternative-investment loss sensitivity. The notes show that counterparty credit risk arises in loans, debt instruments, derivatives, investment activities and off-balance-sheet accounts, and that the Group uses limits and regular stress testing. The disclosure of a framework is useful, but it does not disclose the current severity of stressed loss outcomes.

The segment reading is consequently constructive but conditional. The 1H26 income mix shows that the franchise can generate significant fees and profits, and annual audited results show diversified market-facing income sources. At the same time, evidence gaps on granular fee recurrence, underwriting commitments, risk consumption, valuation sensitivity and asset-quality distribution mean that the analyst cannot translate the revenue uplift mechanically into a durable credit improvement. The speed of earnings change in a securities firm can be faster than in a traditional lender; the credit assessment must remain focused on capital and funding transmission as much as on the reported P/L.

4. Financial Profile and Analysis

The table below presents an explicitly two-year audited consolidated issuer series. All figures are Korean won and are rounded to the nearest KRW0.1tn except where stated. The source is KB Securities' audited consolidated financial statements for 31 December 2025 and 31 December 2024; the auditor's report dated 5 March 2026 expresses an unqualified opinion under Korean IFRS. No audited FY2023 KB Securities consolidated filing was obtained. The table should therefore not be mistaken for a three-year audited trend.

Audited consolidated financial profile FY2025 KRW tn FY2024 KRW tn Credit reading
Total assets 76.5 63.4 Balance sheet expanded materially; asset composition and funding must be assessed alongside growth.
Cash and deposits 4.1 3.3 Point-in-time accounting cash; not a stated stress-liquidity reserve.
FVTPL financial assets 42.8 37.1 Large market-valued asset book; exposes capital and funding analysis to valuation and liquidity conditions.
Derivative financial assets 1.6 1.4 Indicates material derivative activity; gross balance is not a net counterparty-risk estimate.
FVOCI financial assets 9.5 6.5 Larger valuation-sensitive securities portfolio; OCI and market-price movements matter.
Financial assets at amortised cost 10.6 10.6 Credit-exposed assets remain material; detailed current quality metrics are unconfirmed.
Total liabilities 69.6 56.5 Liability expansion broadly accompanied asset growth.
Deposit liabilities 12.1 7.7 Material funding category, but not equivalent to insured retail deposits or proof of stable funding.
Financial liabilities at FVTPL 10.9 10.6 Trading and valuation-related liabilities add market sensitivity.
Derivative financial liabilities 2.1 1.9 Collateral and netting terms matter more than gross accounting amount alone.
Borrowings 37.8 33.5 Main disclosed funding category; maturity, currency and secured/unsecured split not established here.
Other financial liabilities 5.9 2.2 Expanded materially; composition requires further review before drawing a funding conclusion.
Total equity 6.9 6.9 Reported equity was broadly stable despite balance-sheet growth; not a regulatory-capital measure.
Operating profit 0.91 0.78 Annual profitability improved.
Profit for the year 0.68 0.59 Audited earnings increased, but market-sensitive components require through-cycle caution.

The balance-sheet expansion deserves more attention than a simple growth label. Assets increased by about KRW13.1tn in 2025, while total liabilities increased by about KRW13.1tn and reported total equity changed little. FVTPL assets rose by roughly KRW5.7tn, FVOCI assets by about KRW3.0tn and cash and deposits by about KRW0.8tn. The increase in market-valued financial assets can represent client facilitation, inventory, investment activity and liquidity management, but the reporting categories do not identify the risk characteristics, duration, issuer concentration, hedges, client offsets or liquidity under stress. The Group's size and access to market instruments can support activity in normal markets; they also mean that the quality of funding and collateral arrangements becomes central when prices are volatile.

Borrowings increased by roughly KRW4.4tn and deposit liabilities by roughly KRW4.4tn in FY2025. A securities-company balance sheet is commonly financed through a mixture of borrowings, repos, deposits, derivatives, securities lending and other financial liabilities. The audited accounts confirm the existence of several of these categories but do not permit a current conclusion about the mix of short versus long maturity, domestic versus foreign currency, secured versus unsecured creditors, committed facilities or aggregate asset encumbrance. Even where contractual maturity tables exist in annual accounts, the information is dated 31 December 2025 and needs interpretation alongside offsetting assets, collateral, derivatives and subsequently changing market conditions. This report avoids converting dated accounting categories into an asserted September 2026 liquidity profile.

Profitability improved in FY2025. Operating profit rose to KRW911.6bn from KRW780.8bn and profit for the year to KRW682.4bn from KRW590.4bn. Fee and commission income rose to KRW1.22tn from KRW1.00tn, while the net of fee and commission income and expense also improved. The broader financial-instrument and foreign-exchange lines demonstrate considerable gross activity, with both gains and losses increasing. The appropriate credit interpretation is that the Group had strong revenue-generation capacity in the audited year, not that all of the improvement is stable, cash-like or freely available to service a particular creditor. Gains and losses can offset in ways not apparent from a simplified table, and marks, hedges, transaction volumes and funding costs can change rapidly.

The equity figure must be interpreted carefully. Total equity at end-2025 was KRW6.90tn, including KRW756.1bn of hybrid securities and KRW6.86tn attributable to shareholders of the parent company. This is a useful measure of accounting loss absorption in the audited consolidated balance sheet. It is not a disclosed net capital ratio, regulatory capital surplus, common-equity tier ratio or regulatory liquidity metric. The risk-management notes state that the Group manages net operating capital under the Capital Market and Financial Investment Business Act and has a risk-management framework, but the reviewed sources do not provide an up-to-date numerical NCR, its regulatory threshold, composition, headroom or stress outcome. No regulatory-capital conclusion is made here.

The FY2023 context below is deliberately separate. KBFG's February 2024 Fact Book gives subsidiary-level 4Q23(E) data, indicated as estimated and prepared for group reporting. It showed total assets of KRW61.3tn, total equity of KRW6.3tn and 4Q23 net income of KRW28.5bn for KB Securities. It is not an audited KB Securities consolidated account and is not directly comparable with the audited FY2024–25 issuer figures. The limited purpose of the table is to make transparent that the audited series begins with FY2024, not to construct a three-year trend, calculate ratios or underpin the credit conclusion.

Bounded FY2023 historical context 4Q23(E), KRW tn / bn Status and permitted use
Total assets KRW61.3tn KBFG subsidiary reporting; estimated; not audited KB Securities consolidated accounts; not directly comparable.
Total equity KRW6.3tn Same limitation; context only.
Net income KRW28.5bn (quarter) Quarter, not audited annual issuer earnings; no trend calculation or credit conclusion use.

The issuer-published 2026.2Q web values are also kept separate below. The web pages state Korean IFRS but do not state whether the data are audited or reviewed; their legal perimeter and category mapping are not reconciled to the annual audited accounts. They are reported here because they are current issuer-published context, but their proper credit use is descriptive and indicative only.

Issuer-published 2026.2Q web data KRW tn Required qualification
Total assets 102.8 K-IFRS stated by issuer; assurance, perimeter and reconciliation to audited/group-reporting data unconfirmed.
Cash and deposits 8.2 Accounting category, not demonstrated stress liquidity or unencumbered cash.
FVTPL financial assets 52.2 Market-valued category; not a measure of liquid assets after haircuts or funding needs.
FVOCI financial assets 8.5 Valuation-sensitive category; no comparability conclusion to annual accounts.
Amortised-cost loans 12.1 Not a complete asset-quality disclosure; no NPL or coverage ratio inferred.
Deposit liabilities 16.8 Not treated as commercial-bank-style stable deposits.
Borrowing liabilities 44.5 Maturity, currency, collateral and secured/unsecured mix unconfirmed.
Total equity 8.2 Accounting equity; not regulatory capital or a confirmed effect of the July plan.
Profit for the period 0.80 Cumulative period measure; assurance and reconciliation unconfirmed.

The large difference in total assets between the 2025 audited accounts and the 2026.2Q web page could arise from real balance-sheet movements, differing scope, classification or presentation. The materials reviewed do not resolve that question. Treating the difference as a simple six-month expansion, or calculating a leverage or liquidity trend across the two reports, would create false precision. The same caution applies to the apparent increase in cash and deposits and total equity. Such figures may be relevant to a future analysis after statutory interim accounts and reconciliation become available; at present they are not a sufficient basis for an asserted improvement in liquidity or loss absorption.

Asset quality is an area where the evidence is meaningful but incomplete. The audited risk notes identify credit exposure in loans, debt instruments, derivatives, investment activities and off-balance-sheet accounts. Off-balance-sheet maximum exposure disclosed for agreements to purchase commercial paper and guarantees and loan commitments totalled KRW2.84tn at end-2025, compared with KRW2.43tn at end-2024. The Group reported that it uses counterparty limits, concentration management, credit-VaR monitoring and regular stress testing. These disclosures show that the Group recognizes and manages multiple credit channels. They do not establish current credit-loss resilience under a deterioration in real estate, project finance, structured investments, corporate counterparties or market counterparties, because granular exposure, collateral and loss data for those channels were not reviewed.

The provision-charge movement in the group-reporting 1H26 figures should similarly be treated cautiously. Provision for credit losses fell to KRW49.8bn from KRW82.0bn in 1H25. This can be consistent with benign or improving credit conditions, changes in portfolio mix, methodology, recoveries or the timing of individual exposures. Without a reconciled statutory interim disclosure of exposures, staging, non-performing assets, allowances and concentration, it cannot be elevated into an asset-quality conclusion. A key monitoring priority is to obtain more detail on credit and investment exposures—especially any project-finance, alternative, structured or concentrated positions that could prove more correlated in a market shock than their accounting categories suggest.

Overall, the audited financial profile supports credit strength through profitability, a substantial accounting-equity base and a large diversified securities platform. It is constrained by the size of market-valued assets relative to accounting equity, the importance of market funding and the absence of verified current regulatory capital and stress-liquidity data. The latter gap does not demonstrate weakness; it limits the confidence with which a creditor can judge how the profile behaves outside normal market conditions.

5. Structural Considerations for Bondholders

Bondholder analysis begins with the legal issuer, not with the economic group. The financial statements cover KB Securities Co., Ltd. and subsidiaries on a consolidated basis. KBFG reports 100% ownership and presents KB Securities as a core subsidiary in group results. These facts establish a parent-subsidiary relationship and strategic context. They do not establish that a KBFG obligation is a KB Securities obligation, that a KB Securities obligation is guaranteed by KBFG, or that assets of subsidiaries are directly available to a creditor of the parent or another group entity.

The February 2026 capital injection is useful evidence of parent support behavior, but its legal form and creditor consequences have not been fully reviewed. A capital contribution can increase a subsidiary's accounting loss-absorption capacity and signal the parent's strategic interest. It does not automatically create an enforceable payment guarantee for outstanding notes, prevent dividends or intragroup transfers in all circumstances, or determine priority in insolvency or resolution. The same discipline applies even more strongly to the July KRW1.0tn plan: its execution has not been confirmed in the reviewed materials and it is not credited in this report's current capital discussion.

The audited accounts show hybrid securities within equity of KRW756.1bn at end-2025. The terms of those securities—including ranking, coupon deferral, loss-absorption, conversion, maturity and any relationship with regulatory capital—were not reviewed. It would be unsafe to assume that the accounting presentation resolves the creditor hierarchy. A holder of senior unsecured debt, subordinated debt, a hybrid instrument, a repo claim, a collateralized derivative claim or a client-related liability may have materially different contractual and legal positions.

Collateral and securities-financing arrangements are especially important to a securities firm's structure. At end-2025, the audited accounts disclosed financial assets pledged as collateral of KRW23.9tn, including guarantee deposits relating to reverse repurchase agreements, securities lending and borrowing, derivative trading and other uses. They also disclosed KRW10.5tn of borrowing securities held as collateral that had been provided to Korea Securities Finance Corporation and others. These disclosures show that collateral movement and reuse are central to the operating model. They do not produce a complete asset-encumbrance ratio for unsecured creditors: the figures relate to particular accounting categories and collateral mechanisms, are dated, and do not state all legal claims, haircuts, netting rights or priorities.

The accounts further state that the Group continues to recognize certain bonds sold under repurchase agreements and securities-lending arrangements because it retains substantially all risks and rewards. At end-2025, the carrying amount of transferred debt instruments under repurchase arrangements included KRW4.16tn within FVTPL and KRW2.60tn within FVOCI, with smaller securities-lending-related items. This is relevant to creditors because a stressed market can raise haircuts, create substitution or margin obligations, and make it harder to monetize assets that are economically or legally tied to financing arrangements. It is not evidence that all such balances would be unavailable, nor does it establish a particular holder's recovery value.

The audited accounts refer to ISDA master netting agreements or similar arrangements with derivative counterparties and comparable arrangements for repos and securities borrowing/lending. Netting and collateral can lower counterparty exposure in normal circumstances, but contractual enforceability, close-out rights and collateral treatment depend on documents, governing law and the specific counterparty arrangement. The report has not examined those agreements or any note offering circular. Investors should not rely on consolidated netting disclosures to infer that an unsecured bondholder has the benefit of derivative collateral or a preferred claim.

Off-balance-sheet arrangements add another structural dimension. The accounts disclose agreements to purchase commercial paper and guarantees and loan commitments, and mention additional credit enhancements such as purchase agreements in connection with subsidiaries established for asset-securitization purposes. The available descriptions show that contingent and structured exposures can sit beside on-balance-sheet assets. The source set does not establish the legal terms, recourse, asset pools, sponsor obligations, priority of creditors or stressed cash needs for each structure. It follows that no recovery or security-ranking conclusion is appropriate.

For an investor considering a specific KB Securities instrument, the remaining document work is material rather than cosmetic. The investor should verify the named issuer, governing law, guarantee, guarantor financial statements, seniority, subordination, collateral, negative pledge, cross-default, change-of-control, events of default, tax gross-up, maturity, call features, resolution or bail-in language and any set-off or netting provisions. Market participants may also need to understand whether an instrument is issued by a financing subsidiary or an offshore vehicle. None of these protections, or their absence, should be assumed from a general issuer summary.

The parent relationship does nevertheless affect the qualitative structural view. A wholly owned subsidiary that is strategically useful to group capital-markets activities may have better access to brand, clients and capital than a standalone broker of similar size. The completed February injection is consistent with that possibility. But the creditor value of support is conditional on legal form, parent capacity, regulatory permissions, timing and the specific instrument. The correct conclusion is support potential, not a guarantee or a mechanical rating uplift.

6. Capital Structure, Liquidity and Funding

The central funding issue is not whether KB Securities has a large accounting balance sheet; it is whether it can continue to finance market-facing assets and meet collateral, settlement and maturity obligations through a period of market dislocation. The audited accounts confirm a diversified set of liability categories and a formal liquidity-risk framework. They do not provide the current granular disclosure needed to quantify a stressed liquidity buffer, maturity coverage, currency mismatch, secured/unsecured funding split or aggregate encumbrance.

At 31 December 2025, borrowings of KRW37.8tn were the largest disclosed liability category, followed by deposit liabilities of KRW12.1tn, FVTPL liabilities of KRW10.9tn, other financial liabilities of KRW5.9tn and derivative liabilities of KRW2.1tn. The increase in borrowings and deposits during the year was accompanied by a larger financial-asset book. This is normal for a market-based broker-dealer model in which financing transactions and client-related balances can expand with trading and capital-markets activity. It also means that the distinction between contractually stable, secured, short-term, callable, collateralized and unsecured sources matters greatly. The reviewed materials do not supply that distinction in sufficient current detail.

The audited liquidity-risk note defines liquidity risk as the risk of insolvency or loss caused by mismatches in inflows and outflows, unexpected cash outflows, expensive funding or disposal of securities at unfavorable prices. It says the Group manages liquidity by analyzing contractual maturities of financial assets, liabilities and off-balance-sheet commitments, maintaining reserves and banking and reserve-borrowing facilities, monitoring forecast and actual cash flows and matching maturities. These are positive governance statements. They should not be overread as a public stress-test result: neither the size of available facilities, their conditions, the amount of unencumbered liquid assets, survival horizons, stress assumptions nor current usage was established from the reviewed source set.

The maturity tables in audited accounts are useful historical evidence, but they do not answer every question relevant at the report date. Contractual-maturity amounts are generally undiscounted principal and interest flows; they can differ from balance-sheet carrying amounts. More importantly, a securities firm's effective liquidity can be altered before contractual maturities arrive by margin calls, haircut increases, unsettled trades, client withdrawals, credit-rating concerns or a decline in the marketability of securities. A simple comparison of audited cash with borrowings would therefore be analytically weak and is not used here.

The issuer web pages' KRW8.2tn cash-and-deposits figure at 2026.2Q provides no basis to remedy this gap. It may reflect a different reporting point and accounting perimeter, but the page does not state assurance status and the amount is not labelled as unencumbered liquidity, HQLA, committed-facility availability or stress-survival capacity. Similarly, retail AUM of KRW289.5tn is a client-franchise metric, not KB Securities cash. Treating either number as evidence of a fully funded stress buffer would conflate client assets, accounting cash and regulatory liquidity.

The end-2025 collateral data identify a channel through which a market shock can tighten liquidity. Pledged financial assets totalled KRW23.9tn, and significant quantities of borrowed securities were also provided as collateral. In a stable market, securities financing, collateral substitution and netting can support an efficient balance sheet. In a stressed market, declining prices, widening haircuts, adverse derivative marks, counterparty concentration and reduced willingness to roll financing may produce incremental cash or eligible-collateral demands. The scale of disclosed collateral activity supports treating this as a primary credit transmission channel. It does not quantify the Group's exposure to a particular haircut shock or prove that refinancing will become unavailable.

Currency and cross-border risk are another uncertainty. The annual financial statements disclose foreign-currency transaction gains and losses and describe foreign-exchange position management, but the reviewed source set does not give an investor-ready maturity and currency map of debt, collateral, hedging or liquidity resources. A domestic-won funding profile with appropriately matched assets has different risk characteristics from a profile dependent on foreign-currency wholesale markets. Until that mix is confirmed, this report does not assert a currency-liquidity conclusion.

Capital analysis has a similar boundary. Accounting equity of KRW6.9tn at end-2025, a reported KRW700bn February injection and an issuer-web total equity figure of KRW8.2tn at 2026.2Q are relevant indicators of potential loss absorption. They are not enough to calculate a statutory net operating capital ratio or to determine whether the issuer has ample regulatory headroom. The July KRW1.0tn action is not included because it remains announced/planned in the reviewed materials. A correct future capital assessment would require a primary source confirming execution and terms of the July action, current regulatory-capital disclosures, risk exposures and relevant regulatory requirements.

The working funding conclusion is consequently neutral-to-constructive in normal conditions but materially conditional under stress. The audited framework, diverse liability categories, domestic franchise, group affiliation and demonstrated parent injection support the view that KB Securities has multiple potential avenues of market access. The lack of current quantitative evidence on liquidity buffers, funding maturities, asset encumbrance, collateral haircuts, currency mismatch and regulatory capital prevents a stronger conclusion. Investors should give more weight to those missing disclosures than to a single point-in-time cash or AUM number.

7. Rating Agency View

KBFG's official ratings page displayed long-term/short-term ratings for KB Securities of Moody's A3/P-2 with a Stable outlook and S&P A-/A-2 with a Stable outlook when accessed for this report. The displayed ratings provide externally assigned reference points indicating investment-grade credit assessments at the entity level shown on the page. They should not be treated as ratings of every KB Securities security, and the page does not replace the underlying agency reports.

The Stable outlooks are broadly consistent with the report's conclusion that no immediate deterioration is demonstrated by the source set. They do not resolve the principal analytical uncertainties: current regulatory capital, liquidity stress capacity, funding maturity and currency profile, collateral and encumbrance, legal instrument ranking and the execution of the July capital plan. Nor should stable outlooks be converted into an assertion that ratings will remain unchanged in a severe market shock.

This report has not reviewed current full Moody's or S&P rating reports, rating rationales, support assumptions, downgrade triggers, uplift methodology, issue ratings or notching. It therefore does not attribute specific positive or negative factors to either agency and does not infer a parent-support uplift, a seniority distinction or a loss-given-failure view. A future review should obtain the agency reports and compare their treatment of KBFG support, securities-market risk, regulatory capital, funding and any particular note structure with the evidence in the issuer's own accounts.

8. Credit Positioning

KB Securities' qualitative positioning is that of a significant domestic securities franchise within a large Korean financial group, with disclosed retail AUM, institutional share, DCM activity and a profitable 1H26 group-reporting result. This profile is stronger than that of a narrowly focused broker with limited client reach or a wholly standalone market intermediary, in the sense that it provides multiple potential revenue channels and a demonstrated parent-capital action. The conclusion is qualitative and evidence-specific; it is not a full named-peer ranking.

Relative positioning cannot be reduced to a balance-sheet-size comparison. Securities firms with similar assets can have very different legal issuers, capital requirements, client concentration, risk appetite, secured-funding dependence, counterparty exposures, parent support, regulatory regimes and instrument terms. The material balance-sheet growth in 2025 and the 1H26 income acceleration may look positive, but they must be assessed with funding and stress data that are not yet available. Likewise, a 12.9% institutional market share or No.1 DCM position provides a useful operational indicator but cannot establish comparative loss absorption or liquidity resilience.

No live spreads, bond prices, yields, CDS, new-issue concessions or traded security data were reviewed. This report does not make a buy, sell, hold or relative-value recommendation. For a market-value view, an investor would need comparable bonds with matched currency, maturity, seniority, issuer/guarantor, call structure, liquidity and covenant terms, as well as current rating and financial data. In the absence of that evidence, the appropriate positioning is fundamental: the franchise and parent relationship support the credit case; market sensitivity, funding/collateral opacity and security-specific uncertainty constrain it.

9. Key Credit Strengths and Constraints

Strengths

Constraints

10. Downside Scenarios and Monitoring Triggers

The most relevant downside is a synchronized market shock rather than a conventional commercial-bank credit cycle. A sharp move in rates, credit spreads, equities or foreign exchange could lower customer activity, reduce fee and brokerage income, impede DCM and investment-banking execution, and create adverse valuation or hedge effects. Those P/L effects may be compounded by changes in counterparty confidence, margin requirements and funding haircuts. The reported size of market-valued assets, derivative balances and collateral arrangements makes this pathway economically plausible; the source set does not quantify the size of the resulting loss or liquidity demand.

The shock-transmission map below distinguishes mechanisms from unobserved buffers. It is a monitoring framework, not a stress forecast.

Shock stage Plausible transmission Evidence supporting relevance Buffer or outcome not established
Market volatility and weaker risk appetite Lower client activity, lower underwriting/advisory flow, weaker fee and trading opportunity 1H26 fee uplift and annual market-related income show sensitivity to capital-market conditions Sustainable fee base, client flows and normalized revenue mix
Asset-price and credit-spread moves FVTPL/FVOCI marks, hedge performance, counterparty exposures and valuation income can move KRW42.8tn FVTPL and KRW9.5tn FVOCI at FY2025; derivatives present Net risk positions, hedges, sensitivities, VaR, stress loss and capital consumption
Collateral and financing response Higher margin calls or haircuts, more costly repos, reduced availability or collateral substitution needs KRW23.9tn pledged financial assets and securities-financing disclosures Haircut stress, unencumbered collateral, committed facilities, rollover capacity
Liquidity and capital pressure Cash outflows, costly funding, asset sales at unfavorable prices, reduced accounting/regulatory capital Audited liquidity-risk definition and KRW37.8tn borrowings Current liquidity buffer, maturity coverage, currency mismatch, regulatory headroom
Creditor impact Higher refinancing cost, constrained funding and potential pressure on unsecured-credit quality Market-based model and structural uncertainty Bond-specific ranking, covenants, guarantee, recovery and resolution treatment

A second downside is that the reported capital-market earnings recovery proves less durable than the 1H26 figures suggest. Net fee and commission income increased sharply in the KBFG group-reporting data, but the source does not separate recurring asset-based fees from transaction fees and market-sensitive activities. A reversal in brokerage turnover, client risk appetite or issuance volumes could expose fixed costs and reduce profitability quickly. Monitoring should focus on quarterly fee trends, client assets and flows, brokerage activity, underwriting conditions, DCM position and the relationship between gross income and operating expenses, while retaining the distinction between group-reporting and audited issuer data.

A third downside centers on credit and investment exposure. Losses on a concentrated counterparty, debt-security holding, loan, commitment, structured product or alternative investment could coincide with market stress rather than occur independently. The audited accounts identify these risk channels and disclose off-balance-sheet commitments, yet the reviewed information is insufficient to rank them by severity. Monitoring should seek current risk disclosures, credit-concentration data, asset-quality measures, expected-credit-loss movements, project-finance and alternative-investment exposures, and the specific terms of commitments and support arrangements.

A fourth downside is an adverse feedback loop between a non-financial event and market funding. Operational disruption, cyber incident, conduct issue, litigation or loss of client confidence could lead counterparties to reassess limits or collateral terms. This can be more rapid for a market intermediary than a steady deposit lender. The annual disclosures establish an operational-risk framework but not current event preparedness or historical loss experience. Investors should monitor material operational, legal, compliance, cybersecurity and conduct disclosures alongside financial data.

A fifth downside is that capital actions are misunderstood. The completed February KRW700bn injection improves support context, but it should not be double counted through an unverified reconciliation with the 2026.2Q web-equity figure. The July KRW1.0tn action remains announced/planned. If it is delayed, modified or not executed, growth and capital-strength expectations embedded in the group presentation may need recalibration. Conversely, confirmed execution would still require analysis of legal form, accounting effect, regulatory treatment and whether it is available to absorb losses relevant to a given security.

Priority monitoring triggers are therefore: (1) execution and terms of the July capital action; (2) current regulatory net capital and liquidity disclosures; (3) funding maturity, currency, secured/unsecured mix and market-access evidence; (4) unencumbered liquid assets, collateral posting, repo and securities-financing developments; (5) material changes in financial-asset valuation, credit losses and structured exposures; (6) quarterly client, brokerage, institutional-share and DCM indicators; (7) rating outlook or agency-rationale changes; and (8) security-specific documentation. A deterioration in several of these at once would be more important than an isolated soft quarter.

11. Credit View and Monitoring Focus

Current credit quality appears consistent with an investment-grade, market-based financial institution with a meaningful domestic franchise and support potential from a wholly owned financial-group parent. The near-term direction is constructive, with FY2025 audited profitability, strong 1H26 group-reporting earnings and a reported completed February capital injection reinforcing the operating and support context. The speed of any change can nevertheless be faster than for a deposit-funded commercial-bank credit because market activity, valuations, collateral and wholesale-funding terms can deteriorate together; the available evidence does not establish a current stress-liquidity or regulatory-capital buffer that would allow a stronger conclusion on sudden-change risk.

The fundamental supports are the demonstrated scope of the domestic franchise, including retail AUM, institutional-market-share and DCM indicators; the ability to generate substantial fee and broader capital-markets income; audited accounting equity; and the connection to KBFG, which has supplied a reported KRW700bn capital injection. The audited risk-management and liquidity framework is also relevant: it shows that the Group recognizes market, credit, liquidity and operational risks and maintains formal governance. Taken together, these factors make KB Securities more than a narrow execution broker and support access to clients, counterparties and capital in normal conditions.

The main constraints set the ceiling on the credit view. The balance sheet has a large market-valued asset component financed through a substantial and insufficiently granular funding stack; collateral and securities-financing activity are material. Market shocks can affect earnings, values, margin and funding at the same time. Reported cash, client AUM and accounting equity do not demonstrate stress liquidity, unencumbered collateral or regulatory headroom. The July KRW1.0tn action cannot be included until its execution and terms are confirmed. In addition, credit quality for a particular bond may differ materially from the issuer-level view depending on legal issuer, guarantee, ranking, collateral, subordination and resolution treatment.

The appropriate stance is therefore positive but conditional, rather than an assertion of an overall upper-tier peer credit. A further strengthening of the view would require confirmed execution and treatment of capital actions, current statutory regulatory-capital data, credible stress-liquidity and funding disclosures, and evidence that fee and client-franchise earnings remain resilient through a less favorable market phase. A weakening of the view would be prompted by a combination of market-income reversal, valuation or credit losses, higher collateral needs, reduced funding access, regulatory-capital pressure, adverse rating action or a material non-financial event. The sequencing matters: in a securities company, funding conditions and collateral demands may signal stress before a full P/L effect is visible.

For unsecured investors, diligence should remain instrument-led. A stable issuer-level rating and strong reported earnings are useful starting points, but they do not answer questions about security seniority, guarantees, covenants, collateral, cross-default, maturity or recovery. In the absence of traded spread data, this report makes no relative-value recommendation. Its central conclusion is that KB Securities benefits from a relevant franchise and parent context, while its credit quality remains inherently tied to market confidence and the information still required to assess funding and loss absorption under stress.

12. Short Summary & Conclusion

KB Securities is a Korean full-service securities company wholly owned by KBFG, with meaningful disclosed retail, institutional and DCM franchise indicators and strong reported 1H26 group-reporting earnings. FY2025 audited profitability and the reported February 2026 KRW700bn parent injection are supportive, but market-sensitive assets, collateral and funding channels keep the credit assessment conditional. Key monitoring items are the unconfirmed execution of the July KRW1.0tn plan, current regulatory capital and liquidity, funding and encumbrance detail, and security-specific creditor protections.

13. Sources

Primary sources

Unconfirmed or pending items

Item Why it matters
Execution, legal form, accounting and regulatory treatment of the July 2026 KRW1.0tn capital action It is announced/planned in reviewed materials and is not included in current loss-absorption analysis.
Current regulatory net operating capital ratio, capital composition, requirement, headroom and stress results Needed to assess statutory loss absorption rather than accounting equity alone.
Current liquidity buffer, stress-survival analysis, unencumbered assets and committed-facility availability Needed to assess whether cash and securities can meet stress outflows.
Funding maturity, currency, secured/unsecured split, repo dependence, collateral haircuts and aggregate encumbrance Needed to assess refinancing and collateral pressure in a market shock.
Detailed loan, project-finance, alternative, structured, counterparty and concentration exposures Needed to assess credit and valuation losses beyond broad accounting categories.
Reconciliation and assurance status of issuer-published 2026.2Q web data Needed before integrating it into audited or group-reporting time series.
Full current Moody's and S&P rating reports Needed to assess agency rationales, support assumptions, triggers and issue-level treatment.
Offering documents and instrument-specific legal terms Needed for issuer, guarantee, ranking, security, covenant, subordination, resolution and recovery analysis.
Live bond spreads, yields, CDS, transaction levels and comparable securities Needed for a relative-value or market recommendation, which this report does not provide.